Read this if you hate Bring Me The Horizon!

Posted: October 19, 2010 in Albums, Bands
Tags: , ,

So there loads of you out there in the metal world who hate this band. I know you do, and I confess, I’ve never been a fan either. Whether it’s just down to musical taste or you’ve read something in the press about Oli Sykes being a knobhead, we’ve all got our reasons to not like them. Bring Me The Hairspray, sorry, Horizon have managed to make themselves the Marmite of metal. You either love ‘em or hate ‘em.

I heard first hand the massive “BOOOOOOOOOOOOOO” from the crowd at Sonisphere UK this year when they were announced ‘up next on the Saturn stage…Bring Me The Horizon!’ and was a little bit shocked by the response, so I’m hardly making this up!

But…

Before you completely dismiss them and do the usual “nah, not interested, can’t stand ‘em, etc.”(which is what i probably would have done), do yourself a favour and have a listen to their latest album “There Is a Hell, Believe Me I’ve Seen It. There Is a Heaven, Let’s Keep It a Secret”. It’s actually pretty damn good.

It wasn’t until recently that I started to pay attention. I’d listened to ‘This is What the Edge of Your Seat Was Made For’ and ‘Count Your Blessings’ and they just did nothing for me, so I wasn’t rushing to check out ‘Suicide Season’. I caught their video for ‘The Sadness Will Never End’ featuring Sam Carter from ‘Architects’ recently. I heard it, not knowing who it was, and thought… “this sounds pretty cool, but it sounds like BMTH, but it can’t be, I like it!”.

There Is a Hell, Believe Me I've Seen It. There Is a Heaven, Let's Keep It a Secret

There Is a Hell, Believe Me I've Seen It. There Is a Heaven, Let's Keep It a Secret

So I bought the new album this week, and have given it a thorough listen and I’m quite impressed. I say thorough, I mean it’s been on non-stop. It’s really good. It doesn’t seem as unhinged as previous albums. You might disagree, but there just seems to be more melody and control in the songs, which in my opinion is a good thing. I’m all for mental metal tunes, and some of these are goliaths of non-stop riffage. But it just sounds better.

Maybe it’s the more grown up songwriting and attitude of a band 3 albums and an E.P. into their career or maybe it’s the addition on this release of former I Killed The Prom Queen/Bleeding Through guitarist Jona Weinhofen. I don’t know. But something’s different.

They used to do the whole random fast tecchy guitar bit for the sake of having one in a song, but on this it’s not like that. Each song sounds big, heavy and fresh in it’s own right. It’s like the next step on from where you could see ‘Suicide Season’ needed to go. Ok, I’m still not convinced by the vocals. They sound much better on this album but I just find his voice to be a bit underpowered for such big songs. But as a package, the songs are great.

The songs on the album are a bit of a mix. You’ve got the big, heavy beasts and you’ve got some well thought out melodic tunes too. The opener ‘Crucify Me’ breaks you into what to expect straight off the bat. It’s got a bit of everything in there. Heavy riffs, atmospheric sections, a female vocal from Lights (Canadian Singer/Songwriter), good melodies, some weird effects and it’s a 6 minute epic. Other songs like ‘Anthem’ are songs that’ll really get you shouting along, with it’s hardcore/punk riffing and big pit-stomping end. “This is an anthem, so fucking sing!”. Erm, ok!

The first track I heard (and saw) was ‘It Never Ends’ which is a great song with a really catchy vocal line “I’ve said it once, I’ve said it twice, I’ve said it a thousand fuckin’ times…” which is one of those lines you hear and it sticks in your head. The video’s a bit weird though!

There are some melodic and sing-along tunes, such as ‘Fuck’ with the clean vocal ending from YouMeAtSix vocalist Josh Franceschi and ‘Don’t Go’ with more atmospheric sounding vocals from Lights. And, there are some heavy hitters too. ‘Home Sweet Hole’ is a fast paced number with chanty sing-along moments and ‘Alligator Blood’ ups the pace too, with a catchy riff, more memorable vocals (“Lets play a game of Russian roulette, I’ll load the gun, you place your bets”) and a big stomping ending.

My fave from the CD is ‘Blacklist’. It’s ace. It’s just one of those simple, straight forward, no messing, in-your-face slow heavy riffs that you can imagine people singing along, swinging their arms or punching the air to.

With more fast, yet melodic pieces with great guitar coming in the form of ‘Visions’ and Fox and the Wolf’, and slower, eerie tunes like the instrumental ‘Memorial’ and ‘Blessed with a Curse’ adding more depth to the album, it’s got more playability than previous albums.

All in all, this album has really changed my opinion on Bring Me The Horizon’s music, and I never thought I’d say it, but I genuinely like it. If you’re after a heavy album with some catchy melodies, fast songs, big heavy riffs and solid guitar work, then check this bad boy out.

Catch em at: http://www.myspace.com/bmth

Leave a Reply

