So Many Gigs, So Little Money…

Posted: June 30, 2011 in Live Shows

So, It’s June and I’ve got plenty of gigs on the horizon for the rest of the year and I know there’ll be a shedload more added too.

I’ve just been to see Suicide Silence, After The Burial and Bleed From Within (All Shall Perish weren’t there as previously billed), which was a really good show. All the bands were pretty damn awesome, and it’s cool to watch After the Burial shredding the nuts off their guitars and Mitch Lucker of Suicide Silence doing his big crazy stomps! More on this soon!

Next up, I’ll be watching Cavalera Conspiracy in my home town!! Having missed Soulfly playing last year ‘cause I was on holiday (if you see me, don’t talk about it. I’m still bitter), I’m really looking forward to this show. It’s the beginning of Sonisphere week, so I’ve booked the whole week off, so I can imagine it’ll be a night of some awesome Cavalera/Sepultura tunes and drinks with friends.

Then is the main event itself: Sonisphere. I missed Download, so Soni is my only festival this year and there’s a fair few bands I’m looking forward to seeing. Some old favourites, and some I’ve never seen. Gotta catch the Big Four, well at least Megadeth and Metallica. Saw the other two last year, so I’ll probably watch Protest the Hero and/or Black Dahlia Murder if they clash. Was really looking forward to the return of One Minute Silence, a band that highly influential to my metal lifestyle for a long time, but sadly they’ve pulled out of the line-up!

We’ve also got great bands to watch like Parkway Drive, Cancer Bats, Black Breath and Sylosis, playing alongside old favourites like Limp Bizkit and Weezer. Not to mention Headliners Biffy Clyro and the returning Slipknot. Should be awesome!

I’d have to say though, that there are two bands I’m eager to see. I’ve never see either before and they should both really get the party atmosphere going! The first is House of Pain. You just know that ‘Jump Around’ is going to be a highlight! Guaranteed to get everyone, well, jumping around!

The second is someone whos music has been a great influence on my love of Lounge music and Cocktail parties. Richard Cheese & Lounge Against the Machine. Classic.

After Sonisphere is done and dusted I get to go and see my guitar hero himself, Slash! A trip to the Manchester Apollo is on to see Slash along side Myles Kennedy performing Slash’s solo tunes and Guns N’ Roses classics. Caught him last year, and it was epic and a tad emotional to say the least!

After that, and in no particular order (mainly cause I can’t remember the dates) I’ve got First Blood to see at the Bolton Alma. A titchy venue that produces some awesome shows and home to much local talent.

Then I’m off to see 36 Crazyfists on their headlining UK tour in support of ‘Collisions and Castaways’. Love 36CF and they’re always good live (even with technical difficulties). Fingers crossed for a decent support band for that one!

After that, is the ‘Hell on Earth’ tour, headlined by my favourite metal thrashing mad band, Unearth! Can’t get enough of Unearth and I’m well looking forward to the new album ‘Darkness in the Light’ too. If the tracks I’ve heard are anything to go by, it should be a classy album. Also on the HOE tour are Full Blown Chaos, Bane and Evergreen Terrace. Not heard anything by Bane, but I like Evergreen Terrace and partial to a spot of Full Blown Chaos. Should be a winner.

Also just got tickets for Alter Bridge. Missed them at Download so I’m pleased they’re touring. Bringing Black Stone Cherry and Theory of a Deadman with them. Just hope Myles can keep up with all this touring and band-swapping!

…and December is brewing up to be a stormer as Machine Head will be returning to the UK! Always love a Machine Head show, and they’re bringing Bring Me The Horizon and DevilDriver with them for an epic line-up.

There’s probably more, but I can’t remember them all. Check back for reviews of some of these and other rantings. Ciao!

Leave a Reply

